Flickr says free account limit won’t impact Creative Commons images uploaded before November 1

Flickr says free account limit won’t impact Creative Commons images uploaded before November 1

Flickr rose from its deathbed last week with a bunch of welcome announcements, such as removing the need for a Yahoo account to log in and giving premium accounts unlimited storage. It wasn’t all peaches and cream, however. There will then be a one-month grace period, after which Flickr will actively delete photos and videos — going from the oldest to the newest, based on when they were uploaded. This news also stoked fears that Flickr’s vast arsenal of Creative Commons (CC) photos would be impacted by the automatic cull. “Many users are concerned such a limit on free account capacity might cause millions of CC images to be deleted from the Commons,” Creative Commons CEO Ryan Merkley noted in a blog post at the time. “A lot of people have reached out to us directly and asked what we can do. “One of the main reasons we were very interested in buying Flickr was to preserve all those historical photos for the public good,” said SmugMug founder and CEO Ben MacAskill. In the future, however, any photographer who uploads CC photos to Flickr will have to adhere to the 1,000-file limit or upgrade to a $50/year Pro account. All these organizations already have Pro accounts, according to Flickr, either by paying for them or because Flickr provides them with a Pro account free of charge. Additionally, Flickr said it will come to separate arrangements with charity organizations that are already using its platform, such as UNICEF and Second Harvest, to ensure they aren’t affected by the latest changes.

SmugMug acquires Flickr from Yahoo
The Importance of Social Media Marketing Today
SmugMug acquires Flickr
Flickr Creative Commons
Above: Flickr Creative Commons

Flickr rose from its deathbed last week with a bunch of welcome announcements, such as removing the need for a Yahoo account to log in and giving premium accounts unlimited storage.

It wasn’t all peaches and cream, however. The photo-hosting platform, which was acquired by SmugMug from Oath (formerly Yahoo) back in April, also revealed it would no longer offer the 1-terabyte limit for free accounts. Moving forward, those on the free plan will have a 1,000-photo and video limit instead.

Digging into the nuts and bolts of the change, Flickr said users will have until January 8, 2019 to upgrade to Pro or manually remove content to meet the 1,000-file limit. There will then be a one-month grace period, after which Flickr will actively delete photos and videos — going from the oldest to the newest, based on when they were uploaded.

This news also stoked fears that Flickr’s vast arsenal of Creative Commons (CC) photos would be impacted by the automatic cull.

“Many users are concerned such a limit on free account capacity might cause millions of CC images to be deleted from the Commons,” Creative Commons CEO Ryan Merkley noted in a blog post at the time. “A lot of people have reached out to us directly and asked what we can do. I’m confident that together we can find solutions,…

Pin It on Pinterest

Shares
Share This